Skip to content
West Dunbartonshire Counts — West Dunbartonshire, in numbers.Local help →

West Dunbartonshire, in numbers

People and living standards

West Dunbartonshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

West Dunbartonshire council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population fell from 97,250 in 1991 to 88,340 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

West Dunbartonshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 95,320 people in 1996; 88,340 people in 2025. 7.3% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — West Dunbartonshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199197,250
199296,920
199397,000
199496,780
199595,870
199695,320
199795,200
199894,930
199994,420
200093,930
200193,320
200293,040
200392,470
200491,960
200591,530
200691,410
200791,370
200891,190
200991,080
201090,800
201190,610
201290,420
201389,980
201489,950
201589,930
201690,260
201790,120
201889,660
201989,560
202088,990
202188,510
202288,270
202388,820
202488,820
202588,340
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

West Dunbartonshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,240 people in 1996; 14,579 people in 2025. 28% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — West Dunbartonshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,826
199220,641
199320,699
199420,662
199520,479
199620,240
199719,988
199819,813
199919,500
200019,140
200118,585
200218,163
200317,772
200417,289
200516,923
200616,706
200716,601
200816,467
200916,367
201016,158
201115,994
201215,885
201315,763
201415,616
201515,600
201615,667
201715,655
201815,508
201915,497
202015,361
202115,131
202214,951
202314,984
202414,839
202514,579
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

West Dunbartonshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 60,318 people in 1996; 54,813 people in 2025. 9.1% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — West Dunbartonshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199161,787
199261,635
199361,636
199461,393
199560,652
199660,318
199760,475
199860,307
199960,143
200060,087
200159,989
200260,140
200360,006
200459,942
200559,936
200660,063
200760,144
200860,059
200959,953
201059,781
201159,628
201259,257
201358,660
201458,504
201558,335
201658,262
201757,921
201857,468
201957,040
202056,416
202155,863
202255,510
202355,653
202455,467
202554,813
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

West Dunbartonshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 14,762 people in 1996; 18,948 people in 2025. 28.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — West Dunbartonshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199114,637
199214,644
199314,665
199414,725
199514,739
199614,762
199714,737
199814,810
199914,777
200014,703
200114,746
200214,737
200314,692
200414,729
200514,671
200614,641
200714,625
200814,664
200914,760
201014,861
201114,988
201215,278
201315,557
201415,830
201515,995
201616,331
201716,544
201816,684
201917,023
202017,213
202117,516
202217,809
202318,183
202418,514
202518,948
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 88,398 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · West Dunbartonshire · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total85,54896.8%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 90,720 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · West Dunbartonshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White89,20498.3%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller1020.1%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group1780.2%
Asian / Asian British: Indian2770.3%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani2510.3%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi50%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese1600.2%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian1520.2%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British2910.3%
Other Ethnic Group1000.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 20.9% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

West Dunbartonshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £7,050 per person in 1997; £20,545 per person in 2024. 191.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — West Dunbartonshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19977,050
19987,309
19998,428
20008,877
20019,348
20029,664
20039,949
200410,297
200510,656
200611,240
200711,528
200812,117
200912,523
201012,700
201113,019
201213,511
201313,659
201413,907
201514,465
201614,759
201715,425
201815,981
201916,648
202016,629
202117,133
202217,428
202319,051
202420,545
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

West Dunbartonshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -33.6% in 1997; -20.9% in 2024. 12.7 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — West Dunbartonshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-33.6
1998-32.5
1999-25.5
2000-25.4
2001-24.4
2002-23.6
2003-23.7
2004-24.1
2005-24.2
2006-23.2
2007-24.9
2008-23.1
2009-21.8
2010-21.4
2011-20.1
2012-20
2013-22
2014-23.1
2015-24
2016-23.4
2017-21.7
2018-21.7
2019-21
2020-20.8
2021-21.6
2022-24.1
2023-22.1
2024-20.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

21.2%

20 March 2022 · West Dunbartonshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · West Dunbartonshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£128,000

July 2026 · West Dunbartonshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.